Silencing The Voters


The Senate State Affairs Committee (to see the full committee, click the ”Members” tab or see below) will hold a hearing on Monday morning, March 11 on S1159, the bill to upend the citizen initiative process in Idaho. The bill makes it virtually impossible for Idaho’s citizens to exercise our constitutional right to make a law. Retired, former Idaho Supreme Court Chief Justice Jim Jones penned a guest opinion editorial in the Coeur D’Alene Press saying this bill would “kneecap the initiative and referendum process.” And, as Rep. Sally Toone pointed out in a Facebook post earlier today, those in charge waited until after 5 pm on Friday to post the agenda announcing this hearing. Rep. Toone also noted that this bill is an “attempt to kill our democracy.” Members of this committee need to hear from everyone who cares about our Democracy. Please ask all members to vote against this bill.

If you are able to attend the hearing, please arrive early if you wish to testify. See the attached agenda.

If you can’t get to Boise, just use this easy tool to call AND email all the members of the committee, and include the committee secretary on your emails.

Here is a complete list of Senate State Affairs Committee members with contact information. Secretary information is at the end.

Senator Patti Anne Lodge (R) - Chair
District 11
P.O. Box 96, Huston, 83630
Home (208) 459-7158
Statehouse (208) 332-1320 (Session Only)

Senator Brent Hill (R)
President Pro Tempore
District 34
1010 S. 2nd East, Rexburg, 83440
Home (208) 356-7495
Statehouse (208) 332-1300 (Session Only)

Senator Chuck Winder (R)
Majority Leader
District 20
5528 N. Ebbetts Avenue, Boise, 83713
Home (208) 853-9090
Statehouse (208) 332-1354 (Session Only)

Senator Steve Vick (R)
Assistant Majority Leader
District 2
2140 E. Hanley Avenue, Dalton Gardens, 83815
Home (208) 332-1345
Statehouse (208) 332-1345 (Session Only)

Senator Kelly Arthur Anthon (R)
Majority Caucus Chair
District 27
725 E. 300 S., Burley, 83318
Home (208) 654-4099
Statehouse (208) 332-1327 (Session Only)

Senator Mary Souza (R)
District 4
P.O. Box 2223, Coeur d’Alene, 83816
Home (208) 818-2356
Statehouse (208) 332-1322 (Session Only)

Senator Michelle Stennett (D)
Minority Leader
District 26
P.O. Box 475, Ketchum, 83340
Home (208) 726-8106
Statehouse (208) 332-1353 (Session Only)

Senator Cherie Buckner-Webb (D)
Assistant Minority Leader
District 19
2304 W. Bella St., Boise, 83702
Home (208) 343-2650
Bus (208) 861-5482
Statehouse (208) 332-1339 (Session Only)

Secretary: Twyla Melton
Phone: 208-332-1326An